If you drive in Alabama, you are required by law to have automobile insurance. Unfortunately, many motorists fail to carry adequate insurance coverage. They may not be able to afford it, or they may simply let their coverage lapse. Some motorists may choose cut-rate policies that don’t provide much compensation in the event of a wreck. These underinsured motorists will usually purchase the minimum amount of insurance required and can’t cover serious injuries if they are at fault.
If you have been hurt in a crash with an uninsured or underinsured motorist, you still have options. At Serious Injury Law Group, we are dedicated to helping fellow Alabama residents demand the compensation they need to recover after devastating accidents. We have the experience and skills to pursue maximum financial compensation when you’re injured, even if that payment should come from your own insurance company.
Call our Alabama car accident lawyers today for a free consultation.
What Happens If I Am Hit by an Uninsured Motorist?
Usually, if you’re involved in a collision, the first step is to exchange contact and insurance information. When someone injures you due to negligence or recklessness, that driver owes you financial damages for your injuries and related losses. In most crashes, the driver’s insurance company would be on the hook for paying you.
Unfortunately, an uninsured motorist does not have that crucial coverage to pay for your damages. If this is the case, you may be able to file a claim with your own insurance company instead, pursuing payment through your uninsured motorist/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage.
You may also be able to pursue compensation directly from the person who hit you through a personal injury lawsuit. Since that person is uninsured, though, he or she may not have abundant resources.
If you are seriously injured and need support, a qualified lawyer is your best bet to navigate what can seem like impossible circumstances. When you contact Serious Injury Law Group, we can discuss all your legal options for pursing the compensation you need to recover.
What Are Alabama’s Mandatory Automobile Insurance Requirements?
The state of Alabama requires all drivers to carry a minimum level of insurance. That minimum is $25,000/$50,0000, meaning $25,000 per injured person and $50,000 per collision regardless of the number of injured people. Unfortunately, $25,000 to $50,000 won’t go far in the event of a serious crash.
By law, your insurance company should offer you UM/UIM coverage with your policy. You would need to opt-out of it on purpose. It’s a good idea to keep that policy in case you are ever hit by someone without insurance.
After a crash involving injuries, it’s important to contact a lawyer as soon as possible. An uninsured motorist, or someone who only purchased the bare minimum, shouldn’t stand between you and your ability to pay for the treatment you need. At Serious Injury Law Group, we can explore whether your own insurance policy can fill in the gap.
Talk to a Montgomery Car Accident Lawyer Now
Don’t wait to talk to a car crash lawyer. Your bills won’t wait, so start seeking full and fair compensation for your injury today. At Serious Law Injury Group, we are skilled attorneys who will fight for every bit of compensation available to you. Call us now to schedule a free consultation.